Gov. Tom Wolf Announces 17 Northern Counties Will Go ‘Green’ Next Friday, Including Lawrence And Clarion Counties

PITTSBURGH (KDKA/AP) — Next Friday, 17 counties are moving into the “green” phase of Gov. Wolf’s reopening phase where aggressive mitigation is lifted.

On May 29, Wolf said these counties are moving to “green,” the least restrictive phase of his reopening plan: Bradford, Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Montour, Potter, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga, Venango and Warren. All of them are lightly populated counties across a northern swath of the state.

Health officials have said they were working on specific guidelines for counties in the green phase.

“The 17 counties going to green have been able to maintain the yellow metrics for 14 days, showing they are ready to make this move to the green phase,” said Pennsylvania Secretary of Health Dr. Rachel Levine.

The governor also said eight additional counties will move into the “yellow” on May 29. All remaining counties in the “red” phase are expected to move to yellow by June 5, Gov. Wolf said.

Allegheny County and other southwestern counties are currently in their first full week of yellow, with Beaver County joining the region today. There are 49 counties in the yellow phase now, and Wolf says by next Friday, 57 total counties will be in yellow.

Moving from red to yellow to green is part of the governor’s phased approach to reopening the state after coronavirus shutdown orders. On the call with reporters, Gov. Wolf said some counties are “close” to going green.